Pecha Kucha

I have always been a cheap gal and I’m not afraid to admit it. Recently I heard about a phenomenon called Pecha Kucha and it turned out to be a great, inexpensive way to spend a Thursday night in Columbus!

Pecha Kucha, which is Japanese for the sound of conversation, was created in 2003 by architects Astrid Klein and Mark Dytham. It is a networking opportunity where designers and other visual artists (including bloggers!) show off their work in 6 minute, 40 second presentations. Up to 20 presenters get 20 slides, for 20 seconds each, to present their work.

Now Pecha Kucha nights are taking place all over the world, including Columbus. I have attended two of these events. The latest was last Thursday at the Gateway Movie Theater. The host mentioned that Pecha Kucha Columbus is growing in popularity and that this was the largest audience so far. The cost to attend is only a $2 donation. There is a cash bar. I saw people eating popcorn from the theater and even pulling out their own sandwiches. The cost to present: FREE.

My only concern is that each event can have up to 20 presenters and there were only 11 last week. I am afraid there aren’t enough people interested in presenting. There have been a wide range of presenters including photographers, writers of all sorts, artists of many different mediums, architects and planners, even bloggers. One of the highlights for me last week was Walker Evans, the operator of ColumbusUndergound.com. I love the site! It was interesting to see what his job entails and what new projects CU is working (like podcasts and video feeds). The opportunities for presenters seem to be endless and I’m sure everyone can find inspiration in their work.

Pecha Kucha, pronounced peh-chah koo-chah, takes place approximately every 2 months and is organized by groups of volunteers. The next event in Columbus is May 21st. The location is TBA but I’ll post an update with the location as the date gets closer. To become a presenter or to help organize the next Pecha Kucha Columbus email columbuspk@gmail.com and check out http://www.pecha-kucha.org/cities/columbus for more information.

2 Responses to “Pecha Kucha”

  1. Cool!
    I like it, nice and clean.
    They’ve been having Pecha Kucha events in Cincinnati but I haven’t attended one yet.
    I’ll have to check out the next one.
    Keep up the good work.

  2. Hey, thanks for the props! Glad you enjoyed my presentation!

    I agree that more presenters are needed! I really enjoyed everyone’s work at this one, and will be recommending as many people as I can to sign up to present. If you can get over the intimidation of speaking in front of a large group, it’s really a lot of fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

