Restaurant Week Comes to Columbus Ohio March 9-14

I’m so excited… Dine Originals Columbus has announced the first ever Restaurant Week in Columbus, Ohio, March 9-15! I have read up on it and I’ve come to a decision; despite my pathetic budget and ever shrinking bank account, I’m making reservations. This is a great opportunity to try some of the more… shall we say, out of reach restaurants without breaking the budget.

Most of the 43 Dine Originals Columbus restaurants are participating in Restaurant Week by creating special fixed-price menus. The prices seem to range from $15 per person to $30 per person (excluding gratuity and tax). The Dine Originals Columbus website has a list of the participating restaurants and will be posting the pre-fixe menus as they become available: http://dineoriginalscolumbus.com/database/rw.php.

I can only afford one meal out during Restaurant Week so I think I’m going to go with Black Creek Bistro. My friends rave about this place but I have yet to eat there. It seems Black Creek Bistro’s menus is full of produce grown on their own farm in Canal Winchester. Their menu changes according to the season. This restaurant has small business and Ohio on the brain (they buy directly from local small business and farmers whenever possible; primary vendors are Ohio based companies). Additionally they are working with an organization that collects used vegetable oil and uses it to research fuel technology. Add to this local art on the walls and Columbus trained interns in the kitchen … impressive! I’m really excited!

I love the whole concept of pre-fixe menu. It’s a great way to keep your bill under control while traveling. I like to use the pre-fixe menus to try food I’m completely unfamiliar with. Like when I wanted to try French food, I started with the pre-fixe brunch menu at L’Antibes. Check out the menu here: http://www.lantibes.com/menu.html. They have pre-fixe menus for Tuesday and Wednesday as well!

Restaurant week originated in New York City in 1992 as a way to welcome the Democratic National Convention to the city. I’m so glad Columbus realizes the potential in participating in such an event. I don’t know if it’s the tightening of our belts but it’s time. Thanks Dine Originals Columbus!

Check out these helpful links:

http://www.blackcreekbistro.com/

http://www.rosendales.com/home.php


Image courtesy of Metromix Columbus

8 Responses to “Restaurant Week Comes to Columbus Ohio March 9-14”

  1. Black Creek Bistro is a great choice! Looking forward to what they put online for their Columbus Restaurant Week special!

  2. Nice info! Very cool post.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

  3. You’ll love Black Creek Bistro, one of my favorite restaurants in Columbus. Great staff and great food.

  4. Thanks for the post. All the Dine Original restaurants are excited about coming together to promote our industry and give us all breaks during these challenging times. I can’t wait to try that Black Creek menu either, yum! I spent most of last night pouring over all the menus, each one is amazing! What a fun way to brighten up an otherwise dreary month!

  5. I just came back from walking on High Street in the Short North and noticed some flyers about this. I googled Restaurant Week in Columbus and landed at your blog. Hello fellow Columbus blogger!

    This sounds like a cool event. We need to keep downtown Columbus alive during this tough economic time.

    (p.s. I’ve tweeted this with a link to your post.)

  6. Black Creek Bistro still hasn’t gotten their menu up and Restaurant Week starts in like 90 minutes! 😉

    You should call and harass them about it. Ha! 😉

    • When I made reservations they said they’d have it up last weekend. I checked last night just before bed and saw it still wasn’t up! Disapointed but I think the meal will still be good.

Leave a Reply

