Bakery Gingham, Thurman Avenue

We needed a sweet treat for a family event yesterday so my bf and I immediately went to Bakery Gingham on Thurman in German Village. I first tried Bakery Gingham when I came across the colorful website back when owner Amanda Ellis was working out of the nook in Brown Bag Deli (another delicious spot in German Village). The website alone was so creative and eye-catching that I took notice.

We finally made it in to taste some freshly baked cupcakes. We found unique and exciting flavors like funky monkey which is a chocolate cake with chunks of banana and peanut butter chips, topped with peanut butter icing and my personal favorite mint chocolate chip which is topped with half an Andes mint. Totally original cupcakes, full of flavor without being overwhelming, not to mention beautifully hand crafted!

Recently I tasted a Bakery Gingham cake. A friend purchased a beautiful chai cake for his wife’s birthday. I had no idea what to expect from the flavor but it was delicious. The cake was cinnamon-y (it’s my blog so I can make up my own words) and creamy. The icing was not too sweet or heavy. I really loved how unique and original it was. The website has an extensive list of the exceptional flavor cakes and cupcakes available at Bakery Gingham. I’m working on tasting my way through that list by following the calendar on the website so I know which flavors are available before I go! There is also more information on the other sweet treats they make such as muffins, biscotti, and scones to name a few.

I am so excited to know that the owner of Bakery Gingham, Amanda Ellis, is a young female chef. Ellis’ website gives you a hint at her passion and creativity but it’s her new store on Thurman, which opened January 31st, that is so impressive. Yes it’s pink but it’s not overly done. I love how the white tile of the store front fits so perfectly with the pink baked goods peeking out the front windows.

I totally dig that Amanda, who according to her website, had a job in corporate America, but decided to move on in order to follow her passion and dreams by starting her own business. I hope she continues to have such success! Congratulations to Amanda and her staff!

If you go:
189 Thurman Ave.
Columbus, OH 43206
614-449-CAKE
www.bakerygingham.com

5 Responses to “Bakery Gingham, Thurman Avenue”

  1. Man those cupcakes look awesome.
    We’re definitely going to make a stop there next time through.
    Its looking like, thanks to your blog we can totally skip the Short North and hang out half the day on Thurman Ave.

  2. I agree with all that you said – and Amanda’s great. My fiancee and I met with her and knew immediately that she was the right person to make our wedding cake. The cupcakes are great and I can’t wait to taste the cake (we’re thinking a white cake with lemon curd filling and Amanda’s perfect buttercream icing). Bakery Gingham is a German Village gem, for sure!

Leave a Reply

