Holiday…. (I’m singing here)

After two weekends in a row of driving to Cincinnati we were looking forward to a weekend at home relaxing.

We started the weekend Friday with drinks at Red Brick Inn with friends and leftovers for dinner. My bf pulled “True Romance” from his personal DVD collection. I’d never seen it before and enjoyed it.

Saturday we wanted to go to Yellow Springs (which is ironic because Saturday night Dave Chapelle, Yellow Springs citizen, was seen up and down the Short North) but decided against when we saw pets are not allowed in the park we wanted to go to.

Instead we ventured to Big Walnut Dog Park off Livingston. It’s a great dog park with dog access to a pond. The dog we’re watching flew right into the water but our dog refused to go near it. We wore the dogs out.

We had an awesome dinner of steaks (they were on a sale a while ago), strawberry/balsamic salad, corn on the cob and strawberry shortcake for dessert.

We topped off the evening with vodka gimlets and a tense game of Scrabble on the patio. I have to say I got Scrabble to boost my vocabulary and spelling however my bf beats me so bad I have no clue if I’m improving!! Oh well, at least he gets into it.

Sunday I attended a wedding shower and later tested my skills with a new recipe. It is a pretty simple Asian style noodle dish using fish sauce. I’ve never used fish sauce before.

I pop open the cap and take a big wiff. Have you ever smelled fish sauce? It’s by far the worst smell I’ve ever smelled. Try it out some time. But regardless of the stink it completed the dish and it tasted awesome.

We walked to the Red Box and got a movie. Because it’s Memorial Day weekend and the pickin’s were slim! We got “Columbus Day” with Val Kilmer. That’s 90 minutes of my life I’ll never get back.

Monday we planned a three course meal for a great couple we are friends with to celebrate the wife’s birthday. We started with an appetizer (fried wontons filling with a mixture of fresh cilantro, spicy shredded cheese and finely chopped chorizo sausage), salsa verde turkey burgers (recipe was a bust… tossed it out instead of putting it in my collection), potato salad, corn on the cob and Graeter’s ice cream for dessert.

As I was frying the wontons in the kitchen we poured some drinks. I made this great drink that included sugared strawberries soaked overnight in vodka. Add sparkling white wine, ice, a little more sugar to taste and a splash of Limonchello. I’d like to point out the strawberries alone resulted in the early bedtime of my bf. Very early.

So it wasn’t the most spectacular end to a long weekend but overall our weekend was exactly what we needed; relaxation, staying home, and good food and drink.

What’d you do this weekend?

One Response to “Holiday…. (I’m singing here)”

  1. My goodness, that’s an amazing-looking dog you’ve got pictured there.

Leave a Reply

