Focaccia Bread

A friend of mine wants to make olive tapanade from a recipe I have. Because it makes such large quantities we’re going to make it together and have a muffalata sandwhich party! To prepare for making the tapanade I got my dad to make us some of his homemade focaccia which is now in the freezer.

First my dad mixes the ingredients in the bread machine. Later he rolls it out onto cookie sheets or a pizza pan and sprinkles seasonings and fresh garlic on top. It bakes in the oven for a little while before it’s complete.

It’s really fun to watch my dad making the bread. He has really never done the cooking in my parents house. I remember when I was a kid my mom went out of town and left my dad, one of my brothers and me at home. My dad decided to cook dinner from scratch rather than using frozen leftovers my mom usually left us. He attempted to make a meatloaf but instead it was like a big meatball that he baked on a cookie sheet.

My mom tells us still today that when she called to check in on us my brother and I were eating peanut butter and jelly and my dad was eating his “meatloaf.” She swears we whined and made her promise not to leave us alone with dad anymore because of his horrible cooking! Then one Christmas the bread machine arrived. Now most family dinners include one of many varieties of my dad’s bread. He even makes pizza with his homemade dough.

When we get together to make the muffalata sandwiches with homemade focaccia and homemade olive tapanade I’ll be usre to post pictures. Until then the focaccia is safely nestled in the freezer.

2 Responses to “Focaccia Bread”

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I came across your blog randomly today, and I am LOVING it! I moved to Washington, D.C. 3 years ago and am so happy to have found a blog that helps me stay connected to home. I’m going to be in town next weekend and will definitely be stopping by Bakery Gingham to review for my own blog after reading your great recommendations. Great blog!

  2. thank you! let me know what you thought of bakery gingham! (or actually i’ll just check your blog! :))

Leave a Reply

