muffuletta on homemade foccacia

As I mentioned in my last post, my dad made me some homemade focaccia so that I could make muffuletta sandwiches with some friends. Friday night we put it all together!

Muffuletta is a sandwich that originated in New Orleans by Sicilians (my people!). Muffuletta consists of a slather of olive tapanade and then Italian lunch meats and cheeses. This meal was somewhat inspired by the Tip Top. My friend and I were discussing olive tapenade when she found it on the menu. I said I had a great recipe but it made a huge batch so we decided to make it together. Turns out I couldn’t find the tapenade recipe so we went a little bootleg. My friend found a couple different variations online and put together her own combination. Turns out it was delicious.

I defrosted the foccacia bread from my dad. We opened up the wax paper and the bread could be smelled for miles away.

And to top the bread and tapenade I went to Carfagna’s for some lunchmeat. I purchased provolone cheese, capicola, sopressata and roast beef (I realize the roast beef is random and not typically on the muffuletta but we were at Carfagnas and it’s hard not to buy certain items there!).

We got all the ingredients ready and put together our muffuletta. My bread was already sliced (great idea mom!). We stood wafting the garlic and rosemary scents for a minute. Then we layered on the meats and cheeses.

We did two layers, I think and we probably could have put a lot more on there but our focus was on the tapenade.

We topped the meat with a generous helping of the tapenade before covering it with the top of the bread. On the side we had a fresh basil, mozzarella and roma tomato salad. It was a great way to cut the salt from the sandwich.

I took pictures and I seriously believe this is one of the times that I made something at home and it actually looked restaurant quality. This may not be something I make often but it was so much fun and easier than I thought it would be. Not to mention it was super tasty!

*A note about Carfagna’s. If you don’t already know, Carfagna’s is a great Italian grocer on 161 near I-71. They have great butcher shop where they cure their own lunch meats. They make their own mozzarella but I’m not a huge fan of it. It needs more salt as does the stuff in water at Kroger so I spend less and stick with Kroger. Carfagnas does have great sausage which I’d eat any time we’re not eating the stuff mom brings home from NYC.

Carfagna’s
1405 E. Dublin-Granville Rd.
http://www.carfagnas.com/

One Response to “muffuletta on homemade foccacia”

  1. This looks tasty. Would be even better with this homemade capicola (made by a fellow Ohioan)

    http://www.widwi.com/widwi.php?item=97&Making+Capicola

Leave a Reply

