fresh pesto

On account of reading so many of these food blogs I’ve grown a lot of courage in my cooking but in very small strides. I leaps in my eyes which are probably just little baby steps but I’m pretty happy with trying new recipes. One of the things I just started making is fresh pesto.

I’ve always loved basil and after a couple tries I have finally found success in growing basil. In fact this summer I’ve take one small plant from the Clintonville Farmers Market early in the summer and it has grown and been split and grown and split into many other plants which have burst in size.

When the basil plant reached its first peak a month or so ago I harvested about four cups and made two, healthy sized portions of pesto.

My recipe [which I started using based on many recipes I saw online and read about… but I didn’t necessarily create it] includes at least 1/2 cup of good shredded parmesan cheese, 2-4 cloves of garlic (depending on the size), 1/3 to 1/2 cup of pine nuts that I toast on the stove top, 2 packed cups of fresh basil, and at least 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil. I toss the cheese, garlic, and pine nuts in the food processor and pulse. Then I toss in the basil until pretty well blended. Then I can pour in the olive oil.

I typically freeze what I make but on this day I made two batches and only froze one. Our favorite splurge with the pesto is to toss in goat cheese at the end to melt in with the hot pasta.

My only issue with pesto is that the garlic really upsets my stomach. Even with a roasted red pepper variation I learned about, garlic is still present. I just can’t bear to omit it from either recipe.

Leave a Reply

