French Apple Tart

I have had a bit of time on my hands lately and when I don’t have much to do I like to watch the Food Network. I like that a lot of the cooking shows involve recipes I think I can actually recreate in my own kitchen.

I think I’m a decent cook but I am not the best baker however I watched Ina Garten make a french apple tart that looked like a piece of cake. I watched intently. I paid attention to all details she included verbally. I watched what she did with her hands. In fact I know it so well that I can tell you off the top of my head how you make it (although when I actually did the baking last night I made sure to read and reread the recipe card). I took note and realized not only were there few ingredients but I still needed to finish off the last of my Lynd’s apples! I was going to make this!

Here’s how you make it: First you pulse flour, salt, and sugan in a food processor. Check. Then you add 1 1/2 cold sticks of butter, which has been been diced. Toss that in and pulse about 12xs until the butter is the size of peas. While the motor runs add 1/2 cup of very cold water. Keep running the motor until it just comes together. Then you pull the dough out of the food processor, mold it into a ball, avoiding over handling it, wrap it in wrap and put it in the fridge for 60 minutes.

About an hour later I start preheating the oven (450 degrees), roll out the dough to 10 x 14, then toss it back into the fridge to keep chilled. I sliced the apples and arranged them diagonally, overlapping a litte and then sprinkle on 1/2 cup of sugar and another 1/2 stick of cold butter, chopped up and sprinkled on top.

I tossed it into the oven on the top rack and waited 45 minutes.

35 minutes later….

“Does it smell like something is burning?” he asks.

“Nah… maybe some of the butter dripped over the side and is burning on the bottom of the oven,” I reply.

(This is where you need to be using google/reader so you can see the resulting photo) This is why I don’t bake. We cut around the burnt part and middle really did taste delicious. I think no matter what, I just don’t have the intuition of a baker. Who knew butter burns? (oh wait, you all knew?! Why didn’t you tell me?!) I think the other problem is that I put the tart up too high in the oven. Ina! Why didn’t you mention that?! I think it’s time to retire my baking tools and stick to dinner.

2 Responses to “French Apple Tart”

  1. 450 for 45 minutes?? Pretty sure you could roast a chicken on that same setting 🙂

Leave a Reply

